Skip to main content

Equity and Inclusion

Meet Our Advocates

Carthage is committed to providing all of our students an inclusive, welcoming environment in which they can learn and thrive. Our faculty and staff continue to show incredible support for DEI initiatives, participating in the Equity and Inclusion Certificate Program for employees, becoming Equity Coaches for our new ARISE program, and completing Safe Zone Training to learn how to better support our LGBTQ+ community.

Equity and Inclusion Certificate Program 


Program Director

Professor Michele Hancock

Michele Hancock

Professor of Practice in Education; Director, Accelerated Certification in Teaching
Lentz Hall 330
262-551-6113
mhancock1@carthage.edu 

 

Program Graduates

Professor Annette Duncan

ANNETTE DUNCAN

Associate Professor of English
Lentz Hall 208
262-551-5883
aduncan@carthage.edu 

Bradley Zopf

BRADLEY ZOPF

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Lentz Hall 333
262-551-6675 
bzopf@carthage.edu 

Professor Brent McClintock

BRENT MCCLINTOCK

Associate Professor of Economics
Clausen Center 225
262-551-5852
bmcclintock@carthage.edu

 

Carol Sabbar

CAROL SABBAR

Director of Library and Instructional Technology Services
Hedberg Library 129
262-551-5900
csabbar@carthage.edu 

 

Carolynn Friesch

CAROLYNN FRIESCH

Director of Foundation and Corporate Relations
Lentz Hall 408A
262-551-6464
cfriesch@carthage.edu 

Christopher Cimaglio

CHRISTOPHER CIMAGLIO

Post-Doctoral Fellow in Western Heritage
Lentz Hall 236
262-551-6442
ccimaglio@carthage.edu 

Corinne Ness

CORINNE NESS

Dean for the Division of Arts and Humanities, Associate Professor of Music
Siebert Chapel Office
262-551-5733
cness@carthage.edu 

Cynthia Allen

CYNTHIA ALLEN

Assistant Professor of Exercise and Sport Science
TARC 2055
262-551-6671
callen1@carthage.edu 

Darwin Tsen

DARWIN TSEN

Assistant Professor of Modern Languages
Lentz Hall 242
262-551-6679
dtsen@carthage.edu 

David Brownholland

DAVID BROWNHOLLAND

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Straz 168
262-551-6158
dbrownholland@carthage.edu 

David Timmerman

DAVID TIMMERMAN

Provost and Chief Academic Officer, Professor of Rhetoric
Lentz Hall 303
262-551-5850
dtimmerman@carthage.edu 

Diana Thomson

DIANA THOMSON

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Lentz Hall 242
262-551-6469
dthomson1@carthage.edu 

Professor Erik Kulke

ERIK KULKE

Director of Education Abroad, Assistant Professor of Modern Languages
Lentz Hall 326
262-551-5916
ekulke@carthage.edu 

Roger Moreano

ROGER MOREANO

Assistant Dean of Students, Director of Equity and Inclusion
TWC 109
262-551-6531
rmoreano@carthage.edu 

A head shot of chair of the Fine Arts Department and associate professor of Theatre, Herschel Kru...

Herschel Kruger

Chair, Theatre Department; Professor of Theatre
Straz Center 62A
262-551-6101
hkruger@carthage.edu 

Jeffrey Seymour

Jeffrey Seymour

Assistant Professor of Sociology and Criminal Justice
Lentz Hall 325
262-551-6236
jseymour@carthage.edu 

Jeff Teague

Jeffrey Teague

Director of Financial Aid
Lentz Hall, fourth floor
262-551-6625
jteague@carthage.edu 

Jeremy Mossman

Jeremy Mossman

Assistant Professor of Music
Johnson Arts Center 210
262-551-6675
jmossman@carthage.edu 

Jojin Van Winkle

Jojin Van Winkle

Assistant Professor of Art, Program Director for the Photography and Film and New Media Program
Johnson Arts Center 231
262-551-6441
jvanwinkle@carthage.edu 

Professor Karin Sconzert

Karin Sconzert

Chair, Education Department; Associate Professor of Education
Lentz Hall 323
262-551-6115
ksconzert@carthage.edu 

Patricia Rieman

Patricia Rieman

Associate Professor of Education
Lentz Hall 327
262-551-6334
prieman@carthage.edu 

Kateryna Sylaska

Kateryna Sylaska

Assistant Professor of Psychological Science
Lentz Hall 224F
262-551-6152
ksylaska@carthage.edu 

Maggie Wentzell

Maggie Wentzell

Assistant Professor of Biology
Clausen Center 115
262-551-6676
mwentzell@carthage.edu 

Lance Thompson

Lance Thompson

Assistant Director of Student Involvement and Campus Activities
Todd Wehr Center 112
262-551-6537
lthompson5@carthage.edu 

Professor Peter Dennee

Peter Dennee

Professor of Music; Program Director, African Studies
Johnson Arts Center 13
262-551-5939
pdennee@carthage.edu  

Samantha Ornig

Samantha Ornig

Digital Communications Specialist
Madrigrano Hall 28
262-551-6551
sornig@carthage.edu   

Professor Sara Jensen

Sara Jensen

Associate Professor of Mathematics
Straz 194
262-551-6154
sjensen1@carthage.edu 

Professor Maribel Morales Martinez

Maribel Morales Martinez

Associate Professor of Mathematics
Lentz Hall 420
262-551-5866
mmorales@carthage.edu 

Tammy Broesch, Office of Student Life

Tammy Broesch

Administrative Assistant, Division of Student Affairs
Todd Wehr Center 107B
262-551-5800
tbroesch@carthage.edu  

Professor Tracy Gartner

Tracy Gartner

Professor of Environmental Science and Biology
Straz Center 90
262-551-5803
tgartner@carthage.edu   

Rebekah Johnson

Rebekah Johnson

Chair, Exercise and Sport Science Department; Assistant Professor of Exercise and Sport Science
TARC 2060
262-551-6118
rjohnson17@carthage.edu 

Steven Domin

Steve Domin

Head Men’s Soccer Coach
TARC 2120
262-551-5930
sdomin@carthage.edu  

 

ARISE Program Equity Coaches


Program Director

Professor Michele Hancock

Michele Hancock

Professor of Practice in Education; Director, Accelerated Certification in Teaching
Lentz Hall 330
262-551-6113
mhancock1@carthage.edu 

 

Equity Coaches

Siovahn Williams

SIOVAHN WILLIAMS

Adjunct Faculty, ACT Program; Urban Teacher Preparation Program Manager
swilliams4@carthage.edu 

Seth Weidmann

Seth Weidmann

Head Men’s Swimming and Diving Coach; Athletics Diversity and Inclusion Designee
262-551-6192
sweidmann@carthage.edu 

Jeffrey Thomas

Jeffrey Thomas

Assistant Professor of Management and Marketing
Lentz Hall 226
262-551-6444
jthomas10@carthage.edu 

Professor Sandra Bisciglia

Sandra Bisciglia

Assistant Professor of Religion, and Women’s and Gender Studies
Lentz Hall 237
262-551-6574
sbisciglia@carthage.edu 

Trevor Jung

Trevor Jung

Career Specialist
The Aspire Center, Lentz Hall Fourth Floor
262-551-6553
tjung@carthage.edu  

Nina Weisling

Nina Weisling

Assistant Professor of Education
Lentz Hall 336
262-551-5831
nweisling@carthage.edu 

Diana Thomson

Diana Thomson

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Clausen Center 115
262-551-6469
dthomson1@carthage.edu 

Roger Moreano

Roger Moreano

Assistant Dean of Students; Director of Equity and Inclusion
Todd Wehr Center 109
262-551-6531
rmoreano@carthage.edu  

Professor Maribel Morales Martinez

MARIBEL MORALES MARTINEZ

Associate Professor of Mathematics
Lentz Hall 420
262-551-5866
mmorales@carthage.edu 

Bridget Haggerty

Bridget Haggerty

Executive Director of Institutional Advancement
Lentz Hall 303
262-551-6572
bhaggerty1@carthage.edu 

Carolynn Friesch

CAROLYNN FRIESCH

Director of Foundation and Corporate Relations
Lentz Hall 408A
262-551-6464
cfriesch@carthage.edu 

Professor Erik Kulke

ERIK KULKE

Director of Education Abroad, Assistant Professor of Modern Languages
Lentz Hall 326
262-551-5916
ekulke@carthage.edu 

Jojin Van Winkle

Jojin Van Winkle

Assistant Professor of Art, Program Director for the Photography and Film and New Media Program
Johnson Arts Center 231
262-551-6441
jvanwinkle@carthage.edu 

Ryan Miller

Ryan Miller

Assistant Professor of Art; Director, H. F. Johnson Art Gallery
Johnson Arts Center 221
262-551-6159
rmiller4@carthage.edu 

Cecily Hunter

Cicely Hunter

Assistant Director of Equity and Inclusion
Todd Wehr Center 108
262-551-5904
chunter1@carthage.edu 

Jacqueline Easley

Jacqueline Easley

Dean for the Division of Professional Studies; Professor of Education
Lentz Hall 322
262-551-5730
jeasley@carthage.edu  

Corinne Ness

CORINNE NESS

Dean for the Division of Arts and Humanities, Associate Professor of Music
Siebert Chapel Office
262-551-5733
cness@carthage.edu 

Karly Kattenbraker

Karly Kattenbraker

Director of Adult Undergraduate Studies; Graduate Student Support Specialist; Coordinator of New Program Development
Lentz Hall 421
262-551-6233
kkattenbraker@carthage.edu 

Bradley Zopf

BRADLEY ZOPF

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Lentz Hall 333
262-551-6675 
bzopf@carthage.edu 

Professor Danielle Geary

Danielle Geary

Associate Professor of Social Work and Women’s and Gender Studies
Lentz Hall 224H
262-551-5712
dgeary@carthage.edu 

Samantha Ornig

Samantha Ornig

Digital Communications Specialist
Madrigrano Hall 28
262-551-6551
sornig@carthage.edu   

Chris Renaud

Chris Renaud

Professor Emerita of Classics, Religion, and Women’s and Gender Studies
crenaud@carthage.edu 

Kateryna Sylaska

Kateryna Sylaska

Assistant Professor of Psychological Science
Lentz Hall 224F
262-551-6152
ksylaska@carthage.edu 

  • Quick Facts

    • Carthage is named a Best Midwestern College by The Princeton Review (2021), a designation given to only 25 percent of four-year schools.

    • The Tower, Carthage’s newest residence hall, provides some of the best views on campus — if not in the Midwest! In addition to #carthageviews of the lake from seven stories up, residents enjoy suite-style living and two floors of shared campus spaces for gaming, cooking, group meetings, or quiet studying. Learn more about all housing options.

    • You’re going to need brain fuel. Grab a morning coffee and a snack and Starbucks or Einstein Bros. Bagels. Later, meet friends at “The Caf,” where the specials change daily but the staples are constant, or swing through “The Stu” for wings, a burrito, or a sub. A new option, Carthage Cash, even covers some off-campus meals.

    • More than 90% of Carthage alumni report that they have secured a job or are continuing their studies six months after graduation. Visit The Aspire Center.

    • 91% of employers say critical thinking, communication, and problem-solving skills matter more than your major when it comes to career success. Learn more about how the liberal arts prepare you for a successful career.

    • Lots of schools wear the four-year label. Carthage stands behind it. More than 90% of Carthage graduates earn their degrees in four years. Learn more

    • Oscars. Emmys. Tonys. Golden Globes. The playwrights we’ve brought in have them. Each year, the Carthage Theatre Department commissions an original script by a renowned playwright for its New Play Initiative. Carthage students then work with the writer to stage it. 

    • Carthage has ranked as a top Fulbright producer for four of the past five years. Read about Carthage Fulbright winners.

    • Things look new at Carthage because they are. Our science center, student union, athletic and recreation center, and numerous residence halls have all been constructed or newly renovated in the last 15 years.

    • Carthage offers majors, minors, and concentrations in more than 50 areas of study, from marketing to neuroscience, nursing to music theatre.

    • Our Summer Undergraduate Research Experience offers select students a research budget, one-on-one mentoring with a professor, and 10 weeks of analyzing, deciphering — and getting paid.

    • So the lake is kind of a focal point, but there’s a lot more to love about our campus — like the fact that our more than 80-acre campus is also an arboretum and wildlife sanctuary. Focused on keeping campus lush forever, we plant between 50 and 75 new trees every year from a variety of species.

    • Carthage was founded in 1847. That’s more than 170 years of leaders, makers, and go-getters going out and going forth. Read more about Carthage’s rich history.

    • More than 90 percent of students receive financial aid. Carthage awards more than $20 million in scholarship and grant assistance. That includes $5.5 million in competitive scholarships in business, mathematics, science, languages, the fine arts, leadership, and overall academic strength. Learn what’s available.

    • Abraham Lincoln was an early Trustee of the College, and U.S. Secretary of State John Hay was a Carthage alum. The two still have a proud place on our campus. Spend some time with them in our Sesquicentennial Plaza. On warm days you’ll find professors leading their classes here.

    • Come to Carthage; hear yourself think — think … think …
      Legend has it that Sesquicentennial Plaza holds a perfect echo. Just stand with both your feet on the “1847,” face Straz, and start talking. “You’re the only one who can hear you, but you’ll be crystal clear,” promises English and theatre alumna Mikaley Osley.

    • Our Great Lake provides Carthage students with some amazing views. Think classes on the beach, lake views from the lab, and sunrises from your dorm room. “I love waking up in the morning with the sun shining off the lake. Nothing compares to the view in the morning,” recalls biology and neuroscience major Ann O’Leary.

    • Carthage awards up to 35 Presidential Scholarships each year, which range from $22,000 up to full tuition. Learn more.

    • For a full decade, NASA has selected Carthage students to conduct research aboard its zero-gravity aircraft. Lately, the stakes have risen. A team of underclassmen is grinding to prepare a tiny but powerful Earth-imaging satellite for launch to the International Space Station. Learn more about the space sciences at Carthage

    • Carthage is the only college or university in the Midwest where every freshman takes a full-year sequence of foundational texts of the Western intellectual tradition. Learn about Intellectual Foundations.

    • With a student-faculty ratio of 13:1, your professors will know who you are. They will also know who you want to be — and how to get you there. Meet our faculty.

    • There are more than 130 student organizations on campus, from Amnesty International to Fencing to Frisbee, Chem Club to Stand Up Comedy. See how easy it is to get involved.

    • True story: There are more than 27 art galleries, a dozen museums, and nine theatres within 25 miles of Carthage. Some highlights: The nationally recognized Racine Art Museum, the world-renowned Art Institute of Chicago, and the Milwaukee Art Museum. Learn more about our location.

    • What’s better than one professor? Two professors. What’s better than two professors? Two professors from totally different fields teaching a single class. There’s debate. Discussion. Differing perspectives. This is where the magic happens. That’s why every student takes a Carthage Symposium.

    • You can’t hide here — not with only 17 other students in the classroom with you. That’s going to be rough some mornings. But later, when you’re able to argue your point of view thoughtfully, express your opinions succinctly, and meet challenges head-on, without fear … Yep, you’ll thank us.

    • Carthage is ranked in the Top 5 in the country for student participation in short-term study abroad. Every J-Term, hundreds of students travel all over the world on faculty-led study tours. Imagine a month in Sweden, Rome, Cuba, Senegal, India, Japan …

    Previous
    Next