The Anti-Racism and Intercultural Seminar Experience (ARISE) for first-year students is a two-semester process of personal and relational growth. All first-year students are assigned an ARISE coach, trained to administer and review the Intercultural Development Inventory assessment.

Program Directors

Michele Hancock

Michele Hancock
Vice President of College Culture for Inclusion; Director of the Administrator Preparation Program; Professor of Practice in Education
Lentz Hall 330
262-551-6113
mhancock1@carthage.edu

Jacqueline Easley
Jacqueline Easley
Professor of Education; Co-Director of the Teaching Commons
Lentz Hall 322
262-551-5730
jeasley@carthage.edu

Faculty & Staff Equity Coaches

Sandra Bisciglia

Sandra Bisciglia
Assistant Professor of Religion, and Women’s and Gender Studies
Lentz Hall 237
262-551-6574
sbisciglia@carthage.edu

Shannon Brennan

Shannon Brennan
Director, Writing Development; Assistant Professor of English 
Lentz Hall 314
262-551-6664
sbrennan@carthage.edu 

Frances Chatman
Frances Chatman
Director of Student Teaching
262-551-5951
fchatman@carthage.edu 

Danielle Geary

Danielle Jarvis ’00
Associate Professor of Social Work and Women’s and Gender Studies
Lentz Hall 224H
262-551-5712
djarvis@carthage.edu 

Bridget Haggerty

Bridget Haggerty
Vice President for Advancement
Lentz Hall 303
262-551-6572
bhaggerty1@carthage.edu

Brandy Johnston

 

Brandy Johnston
Director of Golf
262-551-5994
mjohnston2@carthage.edu

Erik Kulke

Erik Kulke
Director of Education Abroad, Assistant Professor of Modern Languages
Lentz Hall 326
262-551-5916
ekulke@carthage.edu

Rocco LaMacchia
Rocco LaMacchia Jr.
Director of Admissions and Financial Aid
Fourth Floor, Lentz Hall
262-551-6274
rocco@carthage.edu

Ryan Miller

Ryan Miller
Assistant Professor of Art; Director, H. F. Johnson Art Gallery
Johnson Arts Center 221
262-551-6159
rmiller4@carthage.edu

Maribel Morales

Maribel Morales Martinez
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Lentz Hall 420
262-551-5866
mmorales@carthage.edu

Corinne Ness

Corinne Ness
Dean for the Division of Arts and Humanities, Associate Professor of Music
Siebert Chapel Office
262-551-5733
cness@carthage.edu

Sam Ornig

Samantha Ornig
Digital Communications Specialist
Madrigrano Hall 28
262-551-6551
sornig@carthage.edu

Chris Renaud

Chris Renaud
Professor Emerita of Classics, Religion, and Women’s and Gender Studies
crenaud@carthage.edu

Patricia Rieman
Patricia Rieman
Chair, Master in Education Program; Associate Professor of Education
Lentz Hall 327
262-551-6334
prieman@carthage.edu 
Karin Sconzert

Karin Sconzert
Chair, Education Department; Associate Professor of Education
Lentz Hall 323
262-551-6115
ksconzert@carthage.edu

Carolyn Serdar
Carolyn Serdar
Career Specialist for Business and Technology and Director of Internship
The Aspire Center, Lentz Hall
262-551-5934
cserdar@carthage.edu 
Dimitri Shapovalov

Dimitri Shapovalov
Co-Chair, Music Department; Associate Professor of Music
Johnson Arts Center 133
262-551-5860
dshapovalov@carthage.edu

Kateryna Sylaska

Katernya Sylaska
Assistant Professor of Psychological Science
Lentz Hall 224F
262-551-6152
ksylaska@carthage.edu

Jeffrey Thomas

Jeffrey Thomas
Assistant Professor of Management and Marketing
Lentz Hall 226
262-551-6444
jthomas10@carthage.edu

Diana Thomson

Diana Thomson
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Clausen Center 115
262-551-6469
dthomson1@carthage.edu

David Timmerman
David Timmerman
Provost and Chief Academic Officer, Professor of Rhetoric
Lentz Hall 303
262-551-5850
dtimmerman@carthage.edu
Stephen Udry
Stephen Udry
Director, Asian Studies Program; Professor of History and Asian Studies
Lentz Hall 213
262-551-5891
sudry@carthage.edu 
Jun Wang
Jun Wang
Assistant Professor of Education 
Lentz Hall 335
262-551-6059
jwang1@carthage.edu 
Becky Windberg
Becky Windberg
Manager for Communication and Special Projects
The Aspire Center, Lentz Hall
262-551-6030
rwindberg@carthage.edu 

Jojin Van Winkle

Jojin Van Winkle
Assistant Professor of Art, Program Director for the Photography and Film and New Media Program
Johnson Arts Center 231
262-551-6441
jvanwinkle@carthage.edu

John Voynovich
John Voynovich
Webcasting Producer
Hedberg Library 166
262-551-6035
jvoynovich@carthage.edu 
Marilyn Ward
Marilyn Ward
Director, Center for Children’s Literature; Professor of Education
Lentz Hall 231
262-551-5875
mward@carthage.edu 
Erin Weber

Erin Weber
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
DSC 170
262-551-5839
eweber1@carthage.edu 

Seth Weidmann

Seth Weidmann
Head Men’s Swimming and Diving Coach; Athletics Diversity and Inclusion Designee
262-551-6192
sweidmann@carthage.edu

Nina Weisling

Nina Weisling
Assistant Professor of Education
Lentz Hall 336
262-551-5831
nweisling@carthage.edu

Siovahn Williams

Siovahn Williams
Adjunct Faculty, ACT Program; Urban Teacher Preparation Program Manager
swilliams4@carthage.edu

Bradley Zopf

Bradley Zopf ’05 
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Lentz Hall 333
262-551-6675
bzopf@carthage.edu

Our Alumni Equity Coaches

  • Madeline Carrera
  • Cami Christopulos
  • Nick Cottrell
  • Shea’na Grigsby
  • Amerin Idell
  • Erin Magennis
  • Betsy Mitchell
  • Mark Mydlach
  • Owen Myers
  • Matt Passanante
  • Daniel Ross-Jones