Equity Warrior The Carthage Equity & Inclusion Certificate Program guides administrators, faculty, and staff in expanding and deepening their intercultural competency to foster a positive campus community and climate of all individuals.

Individuals commit to self-development by devoting 30-50 hours to learning experiences that advance cross-cultural understandings. Each applicant agrees to participate in a variety of self-selected learning experiences to enhance their knowledge, skills, and disposition in support of making Carthage a place where all can feel a sense of belonging.

After completion of the year-long program, individuals receive a certificate of completion, a $200 stipend, and Equity Warrior decals to display on office doors and laptops. These decals allow students to easily identify administrators, faculty, and staff members who have participated in professional learning experiences to deepen their cross-cultural understandings.

 

Program Director

Michele Hancock

Michele Hancock
Vice President of College Culture for Inclusion; Director of the Administrator Preparation Program; Professor of Practice in Education
Lentz Hall 330
262-551-6113
mhancock1@carthage.edu

Program Graduates

Cynthia Allen

Cynthia Allen
Assistant Professor of Exercise and Sport Science
TARC 2055
262-551-6671
callen1@carthage.edu

Christine Bolz

Christine Bolz
Program Manager, Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium
Straz 80
262-551-5915
cbolz@carthage.edu

Tammy Broesch

Tammy Broesch
Administrative Assistant, Division of Student Affairs
Todd Wehr Center 107B
262-551-5800
tbroesch@carthage.edu

David Brownholland

David Brownholland
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Straz 168
262-551-6158
dbrownholland@carthage.edu

Tracy Gartner

Tracy Gartner
Professor of Environmental Science and Biology
Straz Center 90
262-551-5803
tgartner@carthage.edu

Peter Dennee

Peter Dennee
Professor of Music; Program Director, African Studies
Johnson Arts Center 13
262-551-5939
pdennee@carthage.edu

Annette Duncan

Annette Duncan
Associate Professor of English
Lentz Hall 208
262-551-5883
aduncan@carthage.edu

Sara Jensen

Sara Jensen ’08
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Straz 194
262-551-6154
sjensen1@carthage.edu

Rebekah Johnson

Rebekah Johnson
Chair, Exercise and Sport Science Department; Assistant Professor of Exercise and Sport Science
TARC 2060
262-551-6118
rjohnson17@carthage.edu

Herschel Kruger

Herschel Kruger
Chair, Theatre Department; Professor of Theatre
Straz Center 62A
262-551-6101
hkruger@carthage.edu

Erik Kulke

Erik Kulke
Director of Education Abroad, Assistant Professor of Modern Languages
Lentz Hall 326
262-551-5916
ekulke@carthage.edu

Brent McClintock

Brent McClintock
Associate Professor of Economics
Clausen Center 225
262-551-5852
bmcclintock@carthage.edu

Maribel Morales

Maribel Morales Martinez
Associate Provost for Assessment and Accreditation; Assistant Professor of Modern Languages
Lentz Hall 420
262-551-5866
mmorales@carthage.edu

Corinne Ness

Corinne Ness
Dean for the Division of Arts and Humanities, Associate Professor of Music
Siebert Chapel Office
262-551-5733
cness@carthage.edu

Sam Ornig

Samantha Ornig
Digital Communications Specialist
Madrigrano Hall 28
262-551-6551
sornig@carthage.edu

Patricia Rieman

Patricia Rieman
Associate Professor of Education
Lentz Hall 327
262-551-6334
prieman@carthage.edu

Carol Sabbar

Carol Sabbar
Director of Library and Instructional Technology Services
Hedberg Library 129
262-551-5900
csabbar@carthage.edu

Diane Schowalter

Diane Schowalter
Director of Learning Accessibility
Hedberg Library 214
262-551-5802
dschowalter1@carthage.edu

Karin Sconzert

Karin Sconzert
Chair, Education Department; Associate Professor of Education
Lentz Hall 323
262-551-6115
ksconzert@carthage.edu

Jeffrey Seymour

Jeffrey Seymour
Assistant Professor of Sociology and Criminal Justice
Lentz Hall 325
262-551-6236
jseymour@carthage.edu

Kateryna Sylaska

Kateryna Sylaska
Assistant Professor of Psychological Science
Lentz Hall 224F
262-551-6152
ksylaska@carthage.edu

Jeffrey Teague

Jeffrey Teague
Director of Financial Aid
Lentz Hall, fourth floor
262-551-6625
jteague@carthage.edu

Lance Thompson

Lance Thompson
Assistant Director of Student Involvement and Campus Activities
Todd Wehr Center 112
262-551-6537
lthompson5@carthage.edu

Diana Thomson

Diana Thomson
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Lentz Hall 242
262-551-6469
dthomson1@carthage.edu

David Timmerman

David Timmerman
Provost and Chief Academic Officer, Professor of Rhetoric
Lentz Hall 303
262-551-5850
dtimmerman@carthage.edu

Margaret Wentzell

Maggie Wentzell
Assistant Professor of Biology
Clausen Center 115
262-551-6676
mwentzell@carthage.edu

Jojin Van Winkle

Jojin Van Winkle
Assistant Professor of Art, Program Director for the Photography and Film and New Media Program
Johnson Arts Center 231
262-551-6441
jvanwinkle@carthage.edu

Bradley Zopf

Bradley Zopf
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Lentz Hall 333
262-551-6675
bzopf@carthage.edu

Back to All Advocates