The Center for Faith and Spirituality at Carthage offers many ways for members of the Carthage community to engage with their faith and each other.

Scheduled Events

Interfaith Lunch-Common Ground

Thursdays, 11:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m.
Ehrler Hospitality Center, Siebert Chapel
Students, faculty, and staff are invited to gather for lunch and to learn about different traditions and rituals that are important to faith and non-faith communities in order to be in conversation with each other about matters of ultimate concern and to find our shared values. Contact Serena Richardson at srichardson@carthage.edu, Mara Lysne at mlysne@carthage.edu or Madi Crawford at mcrawford4@carthage.edu.

 

Ongoing Programming

Common Ground special events

Each year the student leadership of Common Ground find different ways to bring us into conversation about the Big Questions of our lives.  In the 2022-2023 academic year watch for monthly events around different cultural traditions.  Come and learn about the history of faith and non-faith beliefs in a fun and safe envirionment.   Interested in knowing more?  Contact Madi Crawford at mcrawford4@carthage.edu, Serena Richardson at srichardson@carthage.edu or Mara Lysne at mlysne@carthage.edu.

Just Lunch

Two to three times each term, the Center for Faith and Spirituality hosts this favorite event for students. It is just what it says it is: Just Lunch. A fresh hot lunch is available in the front lobby of Siebert Chapel and can be enjoyed at one of the tables in the lobby or in Ehrler Hospitality Center. Students are greeted by CFS student staff and invited to free lunch. Watch The Bridge for upcoming events.

40Form-

Fall 2022 40Form kicks off on October 3.  Watch the Bridge for sign up details.  Seeking your meaning and purpose in life and learning about reflection is an important piece of the college experience.  40Form is an online and small group experience led by the Purposeful Life and Leadership Coordinator at CFS.  Daily reflection prompts are sent to students to think about.  Students are encouraged to be a part of a small group that meets weekly to talk/reflect together on the prompts.  This is a great way to get to know yourself and others better.  It is also a great way to gain important questions that will help you with discernment throughout your life.  Interested in knowing more?  Contact Holly Hess at hhess@carthage.edu.

Ongoing Service Days

Throughout the school year, the Center for Faith and Spirituality sponsors service opportunities in our region. Service options include volunteering at our fall and spring Red Cross blood drives, supporting our year-end campus food drive, or participating in service experiences at nonprofits in the Racine/Kenosha area.   Want to know more about service opportunities?  Contact Sydney Anderson at sanderson9@carthage.edu, Amber Janke at ajanke@carthage.edu or Kaleigh Leach at kleach@carthage.edu.  

Annual Events

Chapel Night Live

The first Wednesday of the fall semester Siebert Chapel throws open its welcome back all our students for this annual event.  Partnering with the Office of Student Involvement students will enjoy live music, lots of food, games, crafts, prizes and more.   Our CFS student staff will host the community event.  It is a great way to learn more about faith and spirituality on campus and to meet new students.