Skip to main content


Four Carthage professors awarded tenure

February 19, 2019

At its February meeting, the Carthage Board of Trustees approved tenure for four professors: Jennifer Madden, Isabel Rivero-Vila, Neil Scharnick ’99, and Haley Yaple.

As the Carthage Faculty Handbook explains, the board “grants tenure to those faculty members of such proven performance and professionalism as to qualify them to become permanent members of the faculty.” Each of the promotions will take effect this fall, accompanied by a title change from assistant professor to associate professor.

Meet the four newest tenured faculty members:

Jennifer Madden

Department: Management and Marketing

Professor Jennifer MaddenProf. Madden, who came to Carthage in 2014, brings disciplinary expertise and real-world experience to students. She’s been highly successful in securing grant money for the College and the community.

As director of the Master of Science program in business design and innovation, she recruited seven visiting scholars and 22 students for the inaugural 2017-18 cohort. Prof. Madden has a Ph.D. from Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland.

Professor Christine Blaine, chair of the Promotion and Tenure Committee, said the panel “was impressed with [her] innovative pedagogy and dedication to creating an effective learning environment for students at Carthage.”

Isabel Rivero-Vila

Department: Modern Languages

Professor Isabel Rivero-VilaSince joining the faculty in 2004, Prof. Rivero-Vila has taught all courses offered in French and Spanish. She also mentors and supervises the relevant Target Language Experts and chairs the College’s Quality of Life Committee.

She has a Ph.D. in French linguistics and literature from Universidad de Salamanca (Spain) and did doctoral research at Université Paris 13. Prof. Rivero-Vila regularly participates in workshops and webinars and shares research via peer-reviewed articles and presentations nationally and abroad.

Corinne Ness, dean of the Division of Arts and Humanities, noted that Prof. Rivero-Vila has demonstrated excellence across all of her professional endeavors.

Neil Scharnick

Department: Theatre

Theatre Professor Neil ScharnickOver 16 years at Carthage, Prof. Scharnick has contributed to the theatre program in significant ways by helping to expand the curriculum, produce a more ambitious performance season, and develop a guest artist series.

He has directed three productions in Carthage’s ongoing New Play Initiative, which received regional and national honors through the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival. Prof. Scharnick earned a Ph.D. in theatre and drama from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

“[His] willingness to tackle challenging material in [his] theatre history and play analysis courses prepares students for future courses and to perform at their highest level,” Prof. Blaine stated.

Haley Yaple

Department: Mathematics

Professor Haley YapleA member of the Carthage faculty since 2013, Prof. Yaple has worked to inspire students to pursue applied mathematics and mathematical modeling. She has fostered connections between mathematics and other fields through courses, events, and committee work.

Prof. Yaple is also a co-coordinator of the College’s dual-degree program in engineering. She holds a Ph.D. in applied mathematics from Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois.

According to Professor Mark Snavely, chair of the Mathematics Department, she keeps her students engaged and provides a warm, welcoming classroom atmosphere.


Congratulations to these four professors!