Skip to main content


Congratulations to the 2019 Celebration of Scholars winners!

April 27, 2019

Carthage held its ninth annual Celebration of Scholars on Friday, April 26, 2019, during Spring Family Weekend. Students, families, staff, faculty, alumni, and members of the community celebrated student and faculty research, scholarship, and creativity with a poster exhibition and award ceremony.

Celebration of Scholars 2019

During the Student Award Ceremony, students, parents, and colleagues gathered to honor the recipients of the Students Excelling in Activities and Leadership (SEAL) awards, Western Heritage Scholarships, and Global Heritage Prize. The 2019 Distinguished Senior Award recipient was also announced. 

Student Leadership Awards

Community Service Student Activator of the Year

Megan Mas ’19

Celebration of Scholars 2019 Maham Ali

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Student Advocate of the Year

Maham Ali

Student Organization Advisor of the Year

Professor Bradley Zopf — Black Student Union

Celebration of Scholars 2019's Silver Leadership Award winners

Silver Leadership Award

Evan Blievernicht ’22
Karina Garcia ’21
Shannon Gegare ’22
Noah Griser ’20
Elena Hansen ’20
Paige Hollendonner ’21
Braden Kundert ’22
Jasa Mahlen ’22
Mia Vilanova ’21
Lindsey Vugteveen ’20 

Celebration of Scholars 2019's Gold Leadership Award winners.

Gold Leadership Award

Kendall Bacon ’19
Carson Bashford ’19
Lyndsey Bielinski ’19
Theresa Bolog ’19
Matthew Carlin ’20 
Sarah Cottone ’20
Elena Cressy ’19
Katja Damjanic ’19
Sarah Forbes ’19
Sabiella Gomez ’19
Cara Hull ’19
Renee’ Jalbert ’19
Emma Koenig ’19
Joy Layton ’20
Jaclyn Lindquist ’19
Megan Mas ’19
Molly McQueeny ’19
Rebecca Rimkus ’20
Hannah Skendziel ’19
Samantha Tedesco ’19
Joseph Wonsil ’19
Patrick Zaker ’19

Community Service Program of the Year

Circle K International — UNICEF Trick or Treat

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Program of the Year

Love Simon

Greek Service Award

Tau Sigma Chi

New Student Organization of the Year

Entomology Club

Model UN won Student Organization of the Year at the 2019 Celebration of Scholars.

Student Organization of the Year

Model United Nations

Academic Awards

Western Heritage Scholarship Awards

First place: Morgan Taylor ’20
Second place: Ryan Boren ’22
Third place: Catherine Dombrowski ’22

Global Heritage Prize

First: Emily Jean Zerger ’20
Second: Olivia Saccameno ’19
Third: Elise Dye ’20

Provost Timmerman and Distinguished Senior Sabiella Gomez ’19

Distinguished Senior Award

Sabiella Gomez ’19