Skip to main content


Creative writing contests: Submit your writing by tomorrow


Richard Meier

March 22, 2021

Attention all creative writers! Each year, as a memorial to professors M.E. Chapin, Wilma Tague, and Juanita Jones, the English Department awards three sets of prizes: in fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction. Additionally, for the fourth year now, we offer the D’Souza Prize for Prose, endowed by alumnus and acclaimed author Tony D’Souza ’95.

All students are invited to submit four poems, a single short story. or a work of creative nonfiction. Students may submit in more than one genre but must fill out a separate submission form for each entry. All prose entries are considered for the D’Souza Prize and the Chapin-Tague Juanita Jones Prize in the appropriate genre. Each prize carries a monetary award. A faculty board of review will choose the winners. 

Submission instructions

Submissions for the 2021 Chapin-Tague and Juanita Jones awards in creative writing and the D’Souza prize for prose are being accepted until Tuesday, March 23.

  • No name should appear anywhere on the manuscript. Your name should be listed only on the form or forms and turned in with the manuscript.
  • Submit the application form and the manuscript/list of poems as two separate Microsoft Word or pdf documents. An application form must be submitted with each entry.
  • All entries must be submitted by March 23 to Administrative Assistant Heidi Baehr at Late submissions will not be considered.

The announcement of the award will be made at the English Department Awards gathering. If you have any questions, please contact Professor Rick Meier at


English Department


Prof. Rick Meier,