All Stories

We are accepting submissions to Carthage creative writing contests.

Each year, as a memorial to professors M.E. Chapin, Wilma Tague, and Juanita Jones, the English Department awards three sets of prizes, in non-fiction prose, poetry, and narrative prose (fiction or non-fiction). Additionally, for the fourth year now, we offer the D’Souza Prize for Prose, endowed by alumnus and acclaimed author Tony D’Souza ’95.

All students are invited to submit four poems, a single short story, or a work of creative nonfiction. Students may submit in more than one genre but must fill out a separate submission form for each entry. All prose entries will be considered for the D’Souza Prize and the Chapin-Tague Juanita Jones Awards in the appropriate genre. Each prize carries a monetary award. A Faculty Board of Review will choose the winners.

Submissions for the 2022 Chapin-Tague and Juanita Jones Awards in creative writing and the D’Souza Prize for Prose are being accepted through Sunday, May 1. All entries must be submitted to Late submissions will not be considered.

No name should appear anywhere on the manuscript. Your name should be listed only on the form and turned in with the manuscript. A form must be submitted with each entry.

Contest entry form

The announcement of the award will be made at the English Department Awards gathering.  

Sponsoring Department, Office, or Organization:

English Department

For more information, contact:

Prof. Rick Meier: