Skip to main content

Our Team

Task Force on Team Names and Mascot

Carthage College has periodically reviewed its varsity team names of Red Men and Lady Reds since first adopting the “Red Men” nickname in the early 1900s. In fact, our teams have gone by various versions of these nicknames over the past century.

In October 2019, the Carthage Board of Trustees decided to revisit the team names, as well as the Torchie mascot. Board Chairman Jeff Hamar ’80, with input from Carthage President John Swallow, appointed members of the Carthage community to a Task Force on Team Names and Mascot in November 2019. Chaired by The Rev. Paul Erickson, Carthage Trustee, the group includes alumni, students, faculty, staff, and Trustees.

The group was charged with leading a consultative process to determine if the College’s team names and mascot should be changed. This is an exciting opportunity to evaluate whether these names are right for Carthage today, and to enhance school spirit and our Carthage identity.

Task Force Membership

Task Force Chair
The Rev. Dr. Paul D. Erickson

Mary Bishop

Andy Boncher ’99
Past President of the Alumni Council

Gina Madrigrano Friebus ’76
Trustee, First Vice Chair of the Board

Abigail Hanna
Vice President for Administrative Planning and Innovation and Chief Organizational Development Officer

Hoyt H. Harper II ’77
Trustee, Second Vice Chair of the Board

Thomas Kline
Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Frederick Krull ’83, P’16

Prof. Cassie Lau
Chair, Accounting and Finance Department; Associate Professor of Accounting and Finance, and Economics; Faculty Athletics Representative

Brady Lindsley ’95
Head Men’s and Women’s Tennis Coach

Andrew S. Palmen

Kelsey Peterson
Interim Director of Athletics
(Served on Task Force November 2019-August 2020)

Jasmine Ratcliff ’20
Student and Carthage graduate

Nicholas Seroni ’20
(Served on Task Force November 2019-May 2020)

Nathan Stewart
Director of Athletics
(Joined Task Force in September 2020)

Leanne Ulmer
Head Women’s Volleyball Coach

Elizabeth Young
Associate Vice President for Marketing and Communications
(Joined Task Force in February 2020)