Skip to main content

Parents and Families

Helpful Contacts

Please use this Important Contacts List as a starting point for questions or concerns you may have. We are pleased to partner with you in making sure that your student enjoys a successful experience during their years at Carthage.

Please note: Because of federal laws, issues that are held confidential (i.e. grades, mental health matters, physical health issues, etc.) cannot be shared with anyone without a signed release statement from the student permitting the disclosure of the information.

Learn more about Supporting Students for Success

Academic Concerns


Academic advising, performance, grade changes, tutoring, academic support services, classroom accommodations, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Office of the Registrar Brandon Porter, Registrar 262–551–6100 registrar@carthage.edu 
Academic Support Services Heather Carroll, Director of the Writing Center and Tutoring Center 262–551–6336 hcarroll@carthage.edu
  Diane Schowalter, Director of Learning Accessibility 262‑551‑5802 dschowalter1@carthage.edu

Career Preparation and Student Employment


Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
The Aspire Center Lisa Hinkley, Associate Vice President and Executive Director for Career and Professional Development 262‑551‑5959 lhinkley@carthage.edu

Housing Concerns


Housing options/process, roommate conflicts, housing accommodation, permission to commute, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Office of Residential Life Ryan Colvin, Director of Residential Life 262‑551‑6169 housing@carthage.edu
  Griselda Feliciano, Assistant Director of Residential Life 262‑551‑6169 housing@carthage.edu

Food/Dining


Meal plans, special dietary restrictions/needs, special events, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Sodexo’s Dining Service Sarah Mays, Sodexo General Manager 262‑551‑5820 smays@carthage.edu
  Christine Sward, Catering Director 262‑551‑5824 csward@carthage.edu

Campus Safety/Parking


Parking regulations and permits, campus safety reporting, break shuttles, training, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Office of Public Safety Derek Ferguson, Director of Public Safety 262‑551‑5911  dferguson@carthage.edu

Health Concerns


Physical health appointments, mental health concerns, referrals, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Student Health Services Erin Schabel, Office Manager for Health and Counseling Center 262‑551‑5710 health@carthage.edu
Counseling Services Health and Counseling Center 262‑551‑5710 counseling@carthage.edu

Student Conduct


Violations of student code of conduct, course catalog, academic integrity, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Office of Student Conduct Nick Winkler, Associate Dean of Students/Director of Student Conduct 262‑551‑5800 nwinkler@carthage.edu
Academic Affairs David Timmerman, Provost 262‑551‑5850 provost@carthage.edu

Title IX


Information, guidance, and other resources to address sexual violence and gender discrimination. A Title IX Coordinator can discuss a community member’s general concerns, respond to a report of sexual violence, or answer questions about the disciplinary process for sexual violence.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Title IX  Annette Duncan, Associate Professor of English/Title IX Coordinator 262‑551‑5883 aduncan@carthage.edu

Involvement on Campus


Resources and connections to organizations, offices, and programs students can become involved with to facilitate opportunities to explore personal interests and connect with Carthage.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Office of Student Involvement Elizabeth Snider, Assistant Dean of Students/Director of Student Involvement 262‑551‑5800 esnider@carthage.edu   
  Lance Thompson, Assistant Director of Student Involvement, Campus Activities 262‑551‑5800 lthompson5@carthage.edu
Office of Equity and Inclusion Dean of Students Office 262‑551‑5800 studentlife@carthage.edu
Intramurals and Club Sports Ryan Castle, Head Water Polo Coach/Coordinator of Intramural and Recreational Sports Programming 262–551–5951 rcastle@carthage.edu 
Center for Faith and Spirituality Kara Baylor, Campus Pastor 262‑551‑5810 kbaylor@carthage.edu

Financial Issues


Financial aid, scholarships, grants, student employment, tuition bills, charges, meal plans/points, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Office of Student Financial Services Jeffrey Teague, Director of Financial Aid 262–551–6625 studentfinances@carthage.edu
  Leana Davis, Director of Student Financial Services 262‑551‑5771 studentfinances@carthage.edu

Student Advocacy


Concerns regarding immigration, study abroad and/or off-campus, adjustment issues, and general support.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Study Abroad and J-Term Programming Erik Kulke, Director of Education Abroad 262‑551‑5916 ekulke@carthage.edu
Center for Student Success Melissa Burwell, Director of the Center for Student Success 262–551–5800 studentsuccess@carthage.edu
Dean of Students Office Nick Winkler, Associate Dean of Students/Director of Student Conduct 262‑551‑5800 nwinkler@carthage.edu
Center for Faith and Spirituality Kara Baylor, Campus Pastor 262‑551‑5810 kbaylor@carthage.edu
Office of Equity and Inclusion Dean of Students Office 262‑551‑5800 studentlife@carthage.edu 

Athletics/Intramurals


Questions regarding student athlete experience, student fitness/wellness, and intramurals.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Athletics Department Central Office Jacqueline May, Administrative Assistant 262‑551‑5942 jmay@carthage.edu
Fitness/Wellness Programming and Intramurals Ryan Castle, Head Water Polo Coach/Coordinator of Intramural and Recreational Sports Programming 262‑551‑5951 rcastle@carthage.edu

Transportation Information


In the event of an emergency, please contact the Office of Public Safety for assistance at 262-551-5911.